FILM #1 – ‘WE WANT EQUALITY’

WHY CAN’T DISABLED PEOPLE USE THE TUBE?

Imagine if there were signs outside this station saying “NO DISABLED PEOPLE ALLOWED”. That would be denounced as outrageous, unfair, a policy of apartheid. But for anyone using a wheelchair, that is the reality of the situation.

Other oppressed minorities have been forced to fight for their rights in the past. Rosa Parkes refused to rise from her seat so that black people could take any seat on the bus, and now, it is time for disabled people to do the same.

Those in power will reply with every excuse… there isn’t enough money, it’s impossible to work on all stations etc. etc. But the time for excuses is over. It is time for a change.

How can we claim to be living in a developed country, a “free democracy”, when such a large section of society are denied the right to use our public transport. Can you imagine this being accepted for any other group of people… no women on buses? No black people on trains?

Then WHY is it OK for disabled people?

40 responses to “FILM #1 – ‘WE WANT EQUALITY’

  1. Gwan soldier! Powerful stuff young man that I am going to show to my youth work students around the country

  2. TOTALLY! I don’t get how this stuff is hard to miss though. You tell someone off the streets about this and they’ll think you’re crazy like “they are allowed”.

  3. Great work Jody, your words are extremely inspirational and what you do is making a difference to people you aren’t even aware exist. Congratulations bro and keep up the great achievements!🙂

  4. Great article and powerful video. Good stuff

  5. I never use the tube as I live far from London and was never aware that those disabled with wheelchairs could not use the tube, I assumed that all would provide access as it should be a mandatory policy in order for a Tube station to exist . It’s disgraceful. If anything, the tube is more necessary for those disabled who want to use it but cannot. Some direct action on this subject is needed.😀 Love the video man. Peace x

  6. F**king brilliant! free our people!🙂

  7. Great film by a very articulate man. Also saw your interview live on the BBC tonight. So refreshing to see an enabled disabled man refuse to be intimidated by the presenter or by anyone for that matter. For too long we disabled people have been misrepresented as weak, ineffectual and stupid. My husband is a fan of yours now, especially after your remarks about Palestine. You’re brilliant!

  8. Great stuff keep up the fight

  9. An excellent film and commentary!

    http://keithpp.wordpress.com/2010/12/14/we-want-equality/

    Synchronicity: I was thinking of you, turned on Radio 4, and there you were!

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00wld6y

  10. Hi Jody,
    I just found ur blog (after recognising you off the coverage of the student protests -u were a couple years below me at Askes).
    i just wanted to say Respect for all that you’re doing and have achieved. I’ll definitely be checking back to see whats next.
    Sweet that ur touring with Lowkey btw!
    Laura x

  11. Pingback: ‘We want equality’ « Keithpp's Blog

  12. Hey,

    I saw your BBC interview and found your blog. Just wanted to say that I’m also a left-wing political activist with cerebral palsy, so it’s pretty inspiring to see you out there. (Not in the Hallmark original movie sense of inspiring – more in the “I’m not the only one!” sense).

    I don’t really know what to say except keep up the fight, and solidarity. The webpage goes to the organization I’m involved with here in the United States. The struggle of the students of Britain has definitely been the talk of the student activists I know here; and I believe it has become knowledge among students all over the world.

    In relation to this post, I know what you mean about subways. I use crutches, so I can use the stairs if I really have to, but when I’m in cities with underground systems, that’s almost all the time. It’s absurd. Like you said – it’s basically oppression, right there, every day.

  13. Jody, I’ve just seen the BBC interview and wanted to say if I was you I would never have been able to keep my cool, it was shocking. The guys interviewing style was like something out of Brass eye. I wish you all the best with your complaint

  14. Helen Armstrong

    Brilliant interview with Ben Brown, Jodi, and love the video above. You were calm and articulate and got your point across. Well done!

  15. I thought that your handling of the BBC interview was both skillful and inspirational. I haven’t witnessed such a disgraceful piece of gutter journalism in a long while.

  16. Thierry Schaffauser

    I saw you on youtube, and end up here on your blog.
    I think you’re beautiful, and I can tell you, I met many men in my life.
    Listening to your words and your capacity to remain calm face to the mainstream State media, I thought that you are a very good activist and a brillant spokeperson for all of us, the students, and other people who fight oppression.

  17. Disabled: not able to do certain things.

    Simples.

  18. @jodymcintyre FYI, Jody, and fellow supporters. http://blog.inoodle.com/2010/12/my-bbc-complaint-in-response-to-jody.html

    [posted to Twitter about 30 minutes ago]

  19. 100% agreed. Public transport should be considered a civil right, which means it shouldn’t be optional to make it wheelchair-accessible.

    And I’m another person who found your blog after your brilliant BBC interview. Thank you for calling that idiot interviewer out when he kept insisting that you must have somehow been a threat to armed police in riot gear. Also, I really liked how you compared it to the BBC’s coverage of Palestine. (I live in the U.S., so our local coverage is even worse.)

  20. Hi Jody,

    I wish it hadn’t taken you being attacked by police for me to hear of you and the work you do, but better late than never I guess. I’ve recently started as a job as an academic support worker for students with disabilities and it’s really opened my eyes to the level of discrimination that people with disabilities face. I’ll continue to read your blog and speak out as much as possible. Keep up the good work.

  21. I had similar thoughts when I was using a double pushchair with twins and discovered how impossible using public transport is when you rely on wheels.
    My MP, Greg Mulholland, took up the fight and yes the answers from the bus and train companies were all about there not being enough money to make the stations and vehicles accessible.

  22. REAL TALK and nice shot !!
    Keep struggle !
    Peace

  23. Jody, why did you lie about the Police? I saw you and the way you behaved on the day, so why are you now on national TV having a pop at the innocents? Using your disability in the way you have done is a disgrace.

  24. Hey Jody,

    Firstly I would like to thank you for your inspiring verbal battle with the BBC concerning the protest that took place in London on Thursday. I was there too and was physically pushed from two blocks away and into the kettle in parliament square. I would have sat down in defiance but I was too afraid. I have complained to both the BBC and Channel 4 about broadcasting biased reports and evoking fear in the public. I have received feable replies but i’ll be on their back at every turn.
    Secondly, I am an avid blogger and im now following you! It’s great to know there is intellegent life reporting the truth! I’v not long come out of occupation at Bath Spa Uni and now, more than ever before, I truely feel that in solidarity we can over turn!

    Will keep a look out for your new posts! Good luck with the good fight!

    Many thanks

    Layne Arlina x
    http://laynearlina.wordpress.com/

  25. Hi Jody,
    I am another person who became aware of you as a result of the appalling attack on you by the police. I love the poetry and music. The manner in which you handled the BBC interview was inspiring.
    Love & Solidarity
    We will win !

  26. You managed to go travelling in South America for three months…. quite a hilly place, but no problem.

    Perhaps its time you got a desk job and started contributing to society rather than demanding tax payers pay for whatever you want.

  27. Just wanted to say well done, and wondered what people thought of the plans on DLA…

    http://www.dwp.gov.uk/docs/dla-reform-consultation.pdf

  28. my illness is often severe and gives me fluctuating disability and yet i know this won’t be respected & scored as such by the UK’s profit-driven Ato$ medicals. If i were genuinely ”fit to work” instead of stuck to my bed, ill right now; i would want to work in disability rights,because, what being incapacitated has taught me all year, from my bed; is that few care & even fewer are caring now; it sickens me; and scares me. Yet, the PM had the tragic loss of his disabled child & yet still sets up policies to destroy the quality of life & independence of so many lives affected by disabilty. As I saw on a placard; often, disability IS work. It depends how it affects you, how ill you feel, how much you can do with reasonable regularity. but, this crackdown scares me; I can no longer work & am therefore feeling endangered by my worthlessness in the machine.
    jody, you said some good stuff, stay strong.. brush off any nasty comments..as we set on learning the better stuff… illness & incapcity comes to all in the end; it’s unwise to mock or be suspicious of the obstacles others face in life. we’re better than that,people.

  29. isn’t a disabled person allowed an adventurous break? who knows how he travelled South America; perhaps he had golden geese who flew him up the hillsides; these are his secrets & it’s not our place to question…? let’s hope he had caring friends who helped him achieve his aims. rather than virtually booting him up the backside & down the mountain as the MET may prefer.

  30. I just lodged a complaint with the BBC for how you were treated and how they attempted to spin the issue of police violence. I suggest others to do the same. The man on the other side of the phone was quite nice to be honest.

    To register a complaint please call
    03700 100 222

    Oh, and you’ll need to know the name of the interviewer (Ben Brown) and the program on which he was presenting (BBC News)

  31. Hi from Greece,
    your interview in BBC
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXNJ3MZ-AUo)
    is all around the Greek internet these days.

    Well done mate, the things you said were great.
    keep on fighting

  32. A Powerful Friend

    Jody Mcintyre – you have inspired many, many people.

    For using your time on the BBC to highlight injustice both in your country and abroad you will be rewarded.

    Never give up.

  33. Great post and your performance on the news was worthy of laudation – well done for keeping your cool!

  34. What a remarkable young man you are. I was stunned watching the BBC interview. That was one of the most biased interviews i have seen in a long time. I think the reason it appeared so biased was you fabulous handling of it, which left the interviewer no where to hide his attempt at manipulation. Your measured and intelligent responses had me literally cheering you on. I am so very glad a different face has come out of these protest stories as it makes my blood boil to see pictures of balaclava clad individuals whose soul purpose is to incite violence and fill the headlines with anti student pictures rather than the real story of people at last standing up and for what they believe. You are so right when you say it was an action designed to incite violence. They need to make students look bad, but you have turned the tables, well done!

  35. Susana Rodriguez

    I’m no radical and have honestly not looked at much of the content on this page and most likely will not but I really just wanted to say. I live in OZ and and friend told me to check out your BCC interview. I was shocked and outraged at both the London police and BBC. I have written them a very harsh letter (never done this before) and just wanted to let you know you are reach all manner of people not just revolutionaries. You were very articulate and calm making Brown look even dumber than he made himself look. Nail these cops to the wall. Remember words have more power than most people think, you’re words have impacted me on the other side of the world.

  36. Job well done sir. Job well done. You neutralized that SKY reporter with the requisite clarity and ease. You really exposed his neurolinguistic dis-ingenuity. I’ve only ever seen Ron Paul stand his ground in such a manner. You need to seriously consider contending on a political level. Do not overlook the fact that a certain amount of this has to be done from within the system.

  37. Hey Jodie!

    Gerald Celente briefly talks about you here: http://www.youtube.com/thealexjoneschannel#p/u/7/8CDj5uehzyo

    (about 8 minutes in)

  38. I live in Tokyo and use a folding, electric wheelchair.

    The subways here almost all have full disabled access, to the extent that I can travel virtually anywhere I want.

    Where there is a barrier the station workers are courteous and responsive. They are having a bit of trouble getting used to the newer lightweight powered chairs, which are able to even go into subway cars unassisted as long as the step-up is not too high. They will be Johnny-on-the-spot, though, with a folding ramp if I don’t get a chance to wave them off.

    I am truly in awe of this service to people like me. I stroked 5 years ago and it’s a struggle to walk. But it does not limit my ability to have as normal a life as possible with wheelchair assist.

    I did not have the crass attitude of Mr. “lulz” in the previous post, but before this happened to me I too wondered about the expense of putting in elevators and ramps and escalators in every subway and train stop. Now that I am more attentive I realize that these access aids are also heavily used by the elderly and young mothers with baby carriages, as well as the disabled. Often I have to wait for several elevator loads before I get my chance, so clearly the lifts are valued by more than just people in wheelchairs.

    I admire your strength and determine, Jody, not to take this “sitting down,” as it were, as you seek to lead British society into a reasonable accommodation of the disabled and elderly who certainly DO have a right to use public transport.

    Mr. “lulz” forgets that we ALREADY pay taxes in support of such services. Making it available to people who perhaps need public transport most of all is hardly unreasonable.

  39. We only have accessible transportation here in San Francisco because of a 25 day sit-in of 120 activists in state buildings in 1977. We got sidewalk cuts, too.

    Now we’re looking at more budget cuts to programs and jobs. You’re damned right we have to fight for a better world and I’m proud to be by your side. (and can we work on getting you a chair you can operate independently?) We’re organizing for another day of action in California.

    Yours for the revolution.

Leave a Reply

