Week 52 – Goodbye Brother, Goodbye Bil’in

After six months of living in the Palestinian village of Bil’in, now my home, it was time to say goodbye.
What more can I say?
It’s Hamde I will miss the most.  After sleeping in the same room for most of six months, he became like a brother to me.  More than a brother.  I remember the sleepless nights spent sitting and chatting about our dreams for the future, and then jumping up and rushing out when someone told us the soldiers were in the village at 3am – him to take photographs, me to sit in my wheelchair in front of Israeli army jeeps.
Just a couple of weeks after I left Bil’in, I heard that Hamde had been arrested in a night raid.  It’s even harder when you’re not there.

Leave a Reply

